PNR Status

The PNR status of Indian railways is used to know whether a booked berth is confirmed or not. The passenger name record is a unique 10 digit number that is entered on the Indian railway website to get the current reservation status details. The PNR is the term that we have used at least one time in our life if traveled frequently in flights or in Indian railways.

A 10 digit PNR number is used to check the PNR Status of Indian railways ticked booked on the IRCTC website. It will give the passenger iternay information that contains complete details about the number of passengers, train name, date of travel, and berth numbers.

We use to travel for so many purposes in our life going back to home, for celebrating an auspicious festival, for attending any ceremony, for a holiday vacation, going to holy pilgrimage and lots of other reasons. Traveling is the part of our life and as the youngsters are moving too far places from their home town for further studies or job relocation, it has become a necessary and important part of our lives.

What is PNR Status

It is a record of an individual traveler, passenger name record exist in the database of digitized or computerized reservation system of railways and airlines. Previously this concept was used by the airways industry to provide the information of passengers and seat availability in different flights using the same destination. This is the easiest way to track the information of each person using flights to travel.

PNR number remains the same with you till the time you are on a journey and cannot be changed before the completion of your journey. As the concept becomes successful in that industry, it is adopted by the Railway industry too. Indian Railways or IRCTC provides a PNR for all ticket booking to make checking easier.

How to Check PNR Status

If we talk about Indian Railways, this PNR can be checked by entering a 10 digit unique number on the IRCTC website. In the same way, many other websites also provide the facility to check your PNR status online for railway or flight tickets. You can also verify it from your cell phone (mobile) as well as landline.

Different Types of IRCTC PNR STATUS

These unique 10 digits are generated for every booking of tickets whether it is a confirmed or unconfirmed ticket. It provides the arrival time, departure time, details of every stoppage during the journey, availability of seats, and so on. There are some terminologies used by the websites to provide information. Here are the important abbreviations used by Indian railways for ticket booking:

  • RAC– Reservation Against Cancellation
  • CAN/MOD – Cancelled or Modified Passenger
  • WL# – Wait List
  • CNF/Confirmed – Confirmed
  • CK – Tatkal Quota
  • GNWL – General Wait List
  • CKWL – Tatkal Waiting List
  • R## – RAC Coach Berth
  • RLWL – Remote Local Wait List
  • REGRET/WL – No More Booking Permitted
  • PQWL – Pooled Quota Wait List
  • RELEASED – Ticket Not Cancelled but Alternative Accommodation is Provided

PNR Status Codes

RAC – Reservation Against Cancellation used for a user (passenger) who doesn’t have a confirmed ticket, but has had the authority to travel without any confirmed seat. It depends on the number of persons on the waiting list; it may be further promoted to a confirmed berth if one of the seats becomes available due to last moment cancellations which usually took place at the journey date.

RAC passengers can catch the train and can sit on the seats available in two side berths. If a seat becomes available which can be confirmed by the Ticket Checker Officer, a RAC passenger can get the reserved seat and the second RAC passenger who left can convert the two side chairs into a single seat.

WL – Waiting List is the term used for a passenger who doesn’t get any seat even for sitting. In this case, if the number of confirmed seats or RAC travelers cancels their reservations before the journey date, he/she will become eligible to accommodate. The size of the waiting queue depends on the train and may vary according to the present situation.

There are a fixed number of waitlisting seats, once the maximum number of waiting tickets have been issued, no further ticket requests are allowed or accepted and refused with REGRET on the website. After that, it is not possible to book or purchase a ticket in any category.

How to know the PNR status directly on your mobile phone or cell phone

Well, if you don’t know much about the current reservation details of your booked tickets and want to know more about it, here are some ideas to know the status on your mobile phone.

If you are planning to visit different places in India in this vacation and got your journey tickets reserved through the Indian Railways web portal or from any of their ticket counters, and if you didn’t get any confirmed tickets with specific seat numbers so you will definitely need to know the confirmation of booked tickets after equal intervals

To check the PNR status of your booked tickets you will need the PNR of your tickets. Although, the process of knowing your reservation status is very simple and easy some people might find it difficult as they don’t know how to discover it through the online facility or getting it directly on the mobile phone. Well, there are some simple ways through which you can easily get it on a mobile phone.

Utilize your ten-digit mobile number to check status via SMS

You will love to use this fantastic low-cost service for knowing your reservation details on mobile. This simplified and cost-effective service has been introduced by Google under which one will have to send the PNR to a certain mobile number to check the PNR status.

The service number on which you will have to send the PNR is 9773300000. Suppose you have purchased an SMS pack for your mobile number and if you will send it through SMS on the above-mentioned mobile number, you will be charged with the normal SMS rate. It means the premium SMS rate will not be applicable in that case.

The 139 service

The pre-established 139 calling service of Indian railways can help you to know your booking status on mobile or cell phone. You just need to type the given PNR number of your booked ticket and send it to 139 without typing space for knowing your status. This excellent service is active 24×7 and throughout the country.

Alternate number to check 5676747

One more number can help you explore your status, the service number is 5676747. Sending the PNR number of your booked ticket to this number can also help you to know the reservation status. Sending SMS on both of these numbers will be a charged service and you will be charged for each SMS as per the charges defined by the authorities (usually 3 INR/ SMS)

Employ internet-enabled mobile phone

If you carry an internet-enabled mobile phone with you, so you can use the online services of to check your status on your GPRS enabled phone. Apart from this, you can call the Indian railway helpline number i.e. 139, and follow the instructions to know your railway booking status.